Plenty of Quality in 2012 Grand Prix Stakes Nominations

May 22nd, 2012

Saturday’s Group 3 $150,000 2012 Grand Prix Stakes (2200m) is set to be an exciting race with plenty of quality included in the 22-horse nominations list.

Headlining the group is Rough Habit Plate winner Brambles who capitalised on a promising build up to produce a stunning effort to win by a head in the Group 3 event.

The Peter Moody-trained gelding has finished a worst of fourth from eight career starts and now has three victories to his name.

Fellow Moody-trained gelding Vatuvei has been nominated and he is also coming off a last-start victory after the talented three-year-old hit the line at speed to take top honours by more than a length in the Listed VRC St Leger at Flemington.

One horse that will be out to convert some promising lead-up runs into a winning result this weekend is John Thompson-trained gelding Isopach.

The son of Magic Albert finished third in the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes at Rosehill in early April and since then has run fourth in a quality Frank Packer Plate field before again finishing fourth in the Rough Habit Plate.

Nothing went right for New Zealand gelding Nashville when he finished 13th in the Rough Habit Plate but the son of Darci Brahma is highly rated and boasts a promising record of three wins from seven starts.

Other horses nominated include Brian Smith-trained Arctic and last-start winning Brisbane gelding Moment To Remember.

The race serves as one of the final lead-up events to the Group 1 Queensland Derby which will take place at Eagle Farm on June 9.

Fancy an early Queensland Derby bet? has the best in online betting for all the winter racing action.

Sign up as a new customer today to take advantage of the Australian owned bookie’s sensational $300 new customer offer!

Grand Prix Stakes 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 ARCTIC Brian Smith
2 BRAMBLES (NZ) Peter G Moody
4 COLOUR ME GRAND Matthew Dunn
5 DENWOOD Troy Hall
6 DURNFORD Pat Carey
7 ELIZA BLUES (NZ) Chris Waller
8 EURYALE Peter Snowden
9 HULA LUA (NZ) Michael Kent
10 ISOPACH John P Thompson
11 JOHANNA’S OWN Tony Noonan
12 KEEP WINNING (NZ) John Sargent
13 LARGO DA BARRA John Sargent
14 LUCRIPETOUS (NZ) Chris Waller
15 MOMENT TO REMEMBER Jeffrey Caught
16 NASHVILLE (NZ) Adrian Bull
17 RED SHIFT (NZ) Roger James
18 REIGNING Con Karakatsanis
19 SOROS Peter G Moody
20 ST SULLY (NZ) Robert Heathcote
21 URUNGA (NZ) Adrian Bull
22 VATUVEI Peter G Moody